Ministerstwo Kultury i Dziedzictwa Narodowego
biuletyn informacji publicznej


Music from Chopin's Land, vol. 1

for piano for four hands

Countries of delivery:
  • Cat. no. 11714


This volume from the series Music from Chopin’s Land includes three (differing in terms of form and style) works by Polish composers for a piano duo. These compositions, dedicated for students aged 14–16 and amateur pianists, shall help acquaint them with the issues of a piano duo and the charm of four-hand piano playing. 


Four-hand piano playing poses an exceptional challenge. It develops a wide concept of sound diversification, control over hands and their technique, and a unique ability to unify articulation of both pianists. The pianists, while listening to their individual play and concentrating on the play of their partners, become enriched with special sensitivity to the sound quality.

A piano duo teaches sensitivity to the other person and mutual responsibility for the preparation and performance of the work. This constitutes the biggest challenge to chamber music, bringing remarkable satisfaction and joy out of mutual music making.


The recordings of full version of mentioned pieces:
Polonaise in D Major, Variations in D Major, An Overheard Tune


You can buy it also in a special set Music from Chopin's Land

  • ISMN 9790274017804
  • Language of edition: eng, pol
  • Number of pages: 56
  • Cover: softcover
  • Published: 2017
  • Type: parts
  • Size: N4 vertical (235x305 mm)

Table of contents:
Stanisław Moniuszko Polonaise in D Major
Fryderyk Chopin Variations in D Major
Witold Lutosławski An Overheard Tune
13,00 EUR
Suggested retail price.

Buy in the new PWM bookstore