Ministerstwo Kultury i Dziedzictwa Narodowego
biuletyn informacji publicznej


Hagith Op. 25 - opera in one act

piano reduction

Countries of delivery:
  • Cat. no. 11462


‘Karol Szymanowski completed the score of the opera Hagith, to Felix Dörmann’s German libretto, at the beginning of October 1913 and immediately sent it to Emil Hertzka, director of Universal Edition in Vienna, for the orchestral parts and piano reduction to be prepared […].
Universal Edition of Vienna published the libretto in German on 9 April 1920 and in Polish on 22 July 1920, with the piano reduction following on 8 August 1920 (it was not stated who prepared the reduction).
The present piano score is based on its first edition from 1920, accepted by the composer,8 yet comparison of the musical text with the critical-source edition of the opera’s score revealed numerous differences and discrepancies [Score, Karol Szymanowski, Hagith, opera in one act op. 25, vol. eds Barbara Stryszewska and Adam Walaciński, introd. Stefan Keym, performance remarks by Teresa Chylińska (Cracow, 2013), vol. 22 (Polish edition), vol. 13 (German/English edition) in Karol Szymanowski Gesamtausgabe/Complete Edition, ed. Teresa Chylińska,] resulting in a lack of convergence between the two sources. Hence it proved essential to introduce corrections, reductions and amendments to the text of the piano score, thereby restoring the agreement between it and the full score […].
Thus the present form of the piano reduction of Hagith – fully compatible with the first edition of the score – represents merely obligatory supplementary material for the performers.’

from the Introduction by Teresa Chylińska
translated by John Comber

  • ISMN 979-0-2740-0967-0
  • Number of pages: 250
  • Cover: softcover
  • Published: 2020
  • Type: piano reduction
  • Size: N4 vertical (235x305 mm)

100,00 EUR
Suggested retail price.

Buy in the new PWM bookstore