Ministerstwo Kultury i Dziedzictwa Narodowego
biuletyn informacji publicznej


  1. A
  2. B
  3. C
  4. Ć
  5. D
  6. E
  7. F
  8. G
  9. H
  10. I
  11. J
  12. K
  13. L
  14. Ł
  15. M
  16. N
  17. O
  18. P
  19. Q
  20. R
  21. S
  22. Ś
  23. T
  24. U
  25. V
  26. W
  27. Y
  28. Z
  29. Ż

Tadeusz Paciorkiewicz

Tadeusz Paciorkiewicz


Born on 17th October 1916 in Sierpc, died on 21st November 1998 in Warsaw, Polish composer, organist and teacher. He studied at the Episcopal School of Organists in Płock, in the years 1936-43 he studied organ under B. Rutkowski, and in 1941 he undertook composition studies with K. Sikorski in Warsaw, completed in 1951, the Academy of Music in Łódź. During the occupation, he worked as organist and music teacher in Warsaw and Nasielsk. In 1945 he founded a music school in Płock, which he led until 1949, in 1945 he was also one of the founders of the People's Institute of Music (LIM) in Łódź. From 1949 he taught at the PŚSM and the PWSM (Academy of Music) in Łódź, from 1954 he also taught in the Academy of Music (now the University of Music) in Warsaw, where he taught composition and theory; in 1966 obtained the title of associate professor, and full professor in 1979, during the years 1961 - 69 and 1978-81 he was Dean of the Faculty of Composition, Theory and Conducting, and in the years 1969-71, Rector. His pupils included: Z. Bagiński, W. Łukaszewski, S. Moryto and M. Ptaszyńska. In 1986 he retired.

He was honoured in 1979 and 1997 with the Officer's and Commander’s Cross of the Order of Polonia Restituta, in 1971 with the title of Distinguished Cultural Activist and in 1985 and the title of the Distinguished Teacher of the PRL. Winner of numerous awards: 1953 - second prize in the competition for the ZKP (Polish Composers’ Union) Sonatine for bassoon and piano; in 1968 and 1974 awards MON; state award of the third degree in 1969,  for his operatic work; in 1973 the M. Lengowski Prize for De Revolutionibus, in 1979 Prime Minister's Award for Wycinanki z morskiej pianki; in 1985 the Polish Conposers’ Union Award

Adam Mrygoń, Encyklopedia Muzyczna PWM vol. 7 "NOPa"