Ministerstwo Kultury i Dziedzictwa Narodowego
biuletyn informacji publicznej


  1. A
  2. B
  3. C
  4. Ć
  5. D
  6. E
  7. F
  8. G
  9. H
  10. I
  11. J
  12. K
  13. L
  14. Ł
  15. M
  16. N
  17. O
  18. P
  19. Q
  20. R
  21. S
  22. Ś
  23. T
  24. U
  25. V
  26. W
  27. Y
  28. Z
  29. Ż

Jan Namieyski

Jan Namieyski

2 poł. XVIII w.

Namieyski Jan (?), 2nd half of the eighteenth century, Polish composer. The only piece about which there are no doubts concerning his authorship is taken from the music collections in the parish church of Grodzisk Wielkopolski near Poznań; Symphony in D (2 violins, 2 flutes or clarinets, 2 horns, viola, bass). The inscription on the title page reads: “NB. Everything […] offered to the Grodzisk Parish Church. From the papers of Stanisł. Ścigalski in Grodzisk” (entries on the title page made by different people); the manuscript is dated to circa 1760. The second record of the Symphony, without the composer's name (now kept in the Jasna Góra monastery library in Częstochowa), was identified by B. Muchenberg. The composition bears the characteristics of the transitional period of development of the classical symphony, combining on the one hand, a 5 movement arrangement with two minuets, with not fully crystallized subjects of little contrast (repeat of one bar motives), the harmonic uniformity of the individual movements, and on the other hand – individualised instrumental colour: the use of clarinets, viola in the middle movements and horn in the minuet (to a limited extent due to the technical capabilities of the instrument), melodic independence of the bass voices, dialogue between the string instruments and wind instruments, the use of sonata form in I and V movements. The Minuets already have a classical character, almost like Haydn, and there are melorhythmical motives and other classical features.

A. Mrygoń maintains that pieces found in Austrian collections signed "Johann Namiesky" ("Harmoniemusikdirektor" in Baden, probably connected with the church band) are undoubtedly works by Namieyski. Together with works by Johann Namiesky, discovered by B. Chmara-Żaczkiewicz in libraries and archives in Austria, the output of the composer, with the current state of research, would increase by a few religious pieces: two masses (in E major and E flat major), 2 litanies (1 of them in C major), 2 Graduals (B-flat major, D minor), Aria in B flat major, Offertorium in A major and 3 Tantum ergo (in C major, C major, E flat major). In 1830, in Vienna, a singer called Johann Namietzky performed at a concert for the Society of the Friends of Science. With our current knowledge, it is difficult to determine whether it is the same person - Namieyski, creator of the Symphony in D.