New versions of Chopin's piano concertos


We are glad to present you a special edition of two piano concertos by Fryderyk Chopin, arranged for piano and string quintet. The authors of transcriptions are famous pianist and International Fryderyk Chopin Piano Competition's laureate – Kevin Kenner and composer and cello player Krzysztof Dombek. 


The main aim of these versions of two Chopin Piano Concertos was to create a reduction of the full orchestral score in order to accommodate the small ensemble's particular requirements and at the same time to remain as close as possible to the original.

Reconstruction was preceded by extremely detailed analysis of the score source materials and historical documents, which prove that there was a practice of performing concertos by Chopin himself accompanied by the chamber ensemble. The transcription was based on the National Edition of Chopin's works edited by professor Jan Ekier.

The Piano Concerto No. 2 in F minor op. 21 – though published as the second – was written first, between autumn 1829 and spring 1830. “It was composed in accordance with the requirements of the genre, in line with the model derived from Mozart, but adopted directly from Hummel, whose influence is clearly discernible. There is no doubt that the pianistic texture of this work was shaped by the technique termed style brillant. It should be added, however, that in both Chopin’s concertos (written on a single wave of inspiration), the ‘brilliant’-style virtuosity was taken to its pinnacle. It was also overcome, by restoring to the themes a Classical, Mozartian simplicity […] and by infusing the whole work with typically Romantic expression, no longer sentimental, but perceived as poetical. (Author: Mieczysław Tomaszewski, series of radio programs “Fryderyk Chopin's Complete Works”, Polish Radio II; source: NIFC

Soon after the success of Concerto in F minor Chopin wrote Piano Concerto No. 1 in E minor op. 11, where he kept this characteristic youthful, romantic aura, but – as professor Tomaszewski puts it – this concerto “seems to be written with a surer hand and a more experienced ear”.

New versions of Chopin's concertos were published thanks to the cooperation of PWM Edition and The Fryderyk Chopin Institute (NIFC).

We invite you to read an interview with Kevin Kenner in Quarta magazine, where he speaks about the origins and work on the new arrangements of Chopin's concertos. The interview is available here: Chopin's chamber concertos (Quarta No. 3, August 2014, page 17). 

Most popular:

Zygmunt Krauze. 'The Declaration'. World Premiere.

The Universal Declaration of Human Rights can be regarded as the first significant achievement of the UN in the field of protection of human rights. It was adopted in 1948.


Zygmunt Krauze – 70 years after the document was created and 100 years since Poland regained its independence – referring to the provisions of the Declaration, in his latest work he makes reflections on the condition of contemporary societies.

World premiere of Marcel Chyrzyński’s ‘Ukiyo-e No. 4’

In the last week of July (22-29.07.2018), the 41st Days of Music by Karol Szymanowski will take place in Zakopane. During this year's edition of the festival a number of chamber concerts and recitals are planned. The program will be dominated by 'classics' of the nineteenth and twentieth century: Chopin, Paderewski, Górecki, also Bartòk, Beethoven or Ravel. Of course, there will be plenty of Karol Szymanowski's music as well.

Aleksander Lasoń, COMPOSER OF THE MONTH for June

Aleksander Lasoń – composer, conductor, pianist. Aesthete. June’s COMPOSER OF THE MONTH.


Websites offer facts relating to the artist’s creative path. Yet one would seek in vain information relating to his private life. The composer keeps his world strictly to himself. At our request, however, he has lifted the veil of secrecy. In his own inimitable way, Aleksander Lasoń speaks about the things most important to him. In the form of a compositional A to Z, the like of which we have yet to see on the PWM website!

Aleksander Nowak’s new opera to a libretto by Olga Tokarczuk (winner of the Man Booker Prize 2018!)

The Man Booker International Prize, alongside the Pulitzer and the Literary Nobel Prize, is one of the most important distinctions in the world of literature. The thirteen nominated authors included Olga Tokarczuk, for her novel 'Flights'. On 22 May, the winners of this year’s edition were announced: Olga Tokarczuk and the English translator of her novel, Jennifer Croft.

"Polonaise" for oboe, clarinet and bassoon - world premiere

Thirty years after the Polonaise for oboe, clarinet and bassoon was composed, it is being published by PWM Edition, and its world première on 23 May 2018 at the Polish Library in Paris will be performed by the Cracow Reed Trio, comprised of Marek Mleczko, oboe; Roman Widaszek, clarinet; and Paweł Solecki, bassoon.

Andrzej Kwieciński, PWM COMPOSER OF THE MONTH for May

Young, innovative, ambitious, unconventional, surprising, bold.

Those words describe our COMPOSER OF THE MONTH for May – Andrzej Kwieciński.

Zygmunt Krauze’s A to Z

Intriguing, inspiring, moving…

The A to Z of Zygmunt Krauze, April’s COMPOSER OF THE MONTH, will be nothing if not stimulating. Not wishing to drop any hints, we leave you the pleasure of following the paths set out by the composer.

Marcin Stańczyk, first Resident-Composer of Musica Polonica Nova Festival

Upcoming 31st edition of the "Musica Polonica Nova" festival in Wrocław is going to take place on 20-28 april. It is, next to "Warsaw Autumn", among the oldest polish festivals dedicated to new music. One of the ideas of MPN's new artistic director Paweł Hendrich is to show the work of one particular composer during each edition of the festival. The first artist to be invited as a Resident-Composer is Marcin Stańczyk. Congratulations!