Ministerstwo Kultury i Dziedzictwa Narodowego
biuletyn informacji publicznej


Grandes etudes de concert op. 60, part 1

for piano

Countries of delivery:
  • Cat. no. 12699


Op. 60 is part of the virtuoso trend that has been present in pianism since the first half of the 19th century. At that time, the evolution of the piano provided the impetus for a new social phenomenon, namely concert performances by virtuoso soloists. They aroused great excitement, which in many cases was not connected so much to the artistic value of these performances as to admiration for the almost athletic demonstrations of the performers’ skills. The many hourslong ‘tournaments’ gained popularity, during which artists performed a varied programme.

Sowiński repeatedly and successfully took part in such performances with the most eminent virtuosos of his era, and created showpieces for his own use. The six etudes included in the first volume of the collection presented here are large-scale, well-sounding works, full of impressive figurations, passages, cascades of chords and octaves played at dizzying tempos.

  • Series: Strumento
  • ISMN 979-0-2740-3214-2
  • Language of edition: eng, pol
  • Number of pages: 48
  • Cover: softcover
  • No. of edition: 1
  • Published: 2022
  • Type: instrumental solo
  • Size: N4 vertical (235x305 mm)

17,00 EUR
Suggested retail price.

Buy in the new PWM bookstore