Ministerstwo Kultury i Dziedzictwa Narodowego
biuletyn informacji publicznej


Neopolis concertino

for viola and piano

Countries of delivery:
  • Cat. no. 12907


Neopolis Concertino is a chamber version of Neopolis Concerto, written to commission for the Baltic Neopolis Orchestra in 2017. As in the concerto, the solo part in the chamber version is intended for violin or viola or cello, while the orchestra’s role is taken by the piano.
This work consists of three movements. The first is songful, full of expression and varied in terms of tone colour. The second is dominated by a moving cantilena. The energetic third movement, with an elaborate solo cadenza, draws the listener into a world of amusement and grotesqueness. The Concertino ends with a reminiscence of the opening motif from the first movement.
This composition highlights the most individual features of Paweł Łukaszewski’s music. Contemplation combined with moving harmonies, emotionally heightened chords and energetic phrasing demands maturity of the performer, as well as an openness to seeking new timbral qualities in the instrument. At the same time, all these elements of the work mean that working on it provides exceptionally beautiful creative experiences and encourages the artist to develop in terms of both technique and interpretation.
Kamila Wąsik-Janiak translated by John Comber

  • Series: Strumento
  • ISMN 979-0-2740-3520-4
  • Language of edition: pol, eng,
  • Number of pages: 32+8
  • Cover: softcover
  • No. of edition: 1
  • Published: 2021
  • Type: score and parts
  • Size: N4 vertical (235x305 mm)

19,00 EUR
Suggested retail price.

Buy in the new PWM bookstore