Ministerstwo Kultury i Dziedzictwa Narodowego
biuletyn informacji publicznej



for Viola and Piano

Countries of delivery:
  • Cat. no. 7432


In addition to the numerous violin pieces in H. Wieniawski's compositional output there is only one piee for viola and piano, ''Reverie'', which is without opus number. The ''Dream'' ost probably comes from that period when Wieniawski stayed in London (1858-1859) and, apart from his regular concert activities, took part in chamber concerts, which were very popular at that time. During one of the Beethoven-Quartett-Society concerts a quartet of four outstanding virtuosos (Ernst, Joachim, Wieniawski and Piatti, the cellist) performed together. Wieniawski, who played the viola on that occasion, presumably concluded that there were too few original compositions for this beautiful instrument and decided to write a short viola piece himself. He endowed it with a lyrical character and the stamp of fervour, characteristic of his other compositions. (S. Kamasa)

  • Series: Strumento
  • ISMN 979-0-2740-0100-1
  • Language of edition: eng, pol
  • Number of pages: 16 (12+4)
  • Cover: softcover
  • No. of edition: 4
  • Published: 2020
  • Type: solo part (instrumental) + accompaniment
  • Size: N4 vertical (235x305 mm)

7,00 EUR

Add to cart