Ministerstwo Kultury i Dziedzictwa Narodowego
biuletyn informacji publicznej



for viola and piano

Countries of delivery:
  • Cat. no. 12895


In 2012, at the initiative of Paweł Wojciechowski, Paweł Łukaszewski composed Aria for cello and piano. The work was soon published, and a few years later further versions appeared for other solo instruments: soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, viola and violin. The composer wrote the original version for cello with his son Wojtek in mind, who had just completed his fourth year at a primary school of music, but the emotional charge contained in this composition will satisfy the interpretative demands of mature musicians as well, particularly since the composer left performers considerable scope for individual expression.

With its harmonies, venturing beyond tonality towards jazz-influenced chords, its simple accompaniment, built from repeated motifs that spill between the plans of the two hands, and its consistent narrative, Aria displays a character that is on one hand somewhat nostalgic, and on the other filled with anxiety and hidden drama. An insightful interpretation of this work may bring out that concealed diversity of expression.

  • Series: Strumento
  • Language of edition: pol, eng
  • Cover: softcover
  • No. of edition: 1
  • Published: 2021
  • Type: solo part (instrumental) + accompaniment
  • Size: N4 vertical (235x305 mm)

15,00 EUR
Suggested retail price.

Buy in the new PWM bookstore