Ministerstwo Kultury i Dziedzictwa Narodowego
biuletyn informacji publicznej


Relief IV

for soprano and tubular chimes

Countries of delivery:
  • Cat. no. 8869


In his commentary in the programme book of the 16th Festival of Contemporary Music in Wrocław, in 1988, Andrzej Krzanowski pointed to his experimentation in the areas of timbre and architecture throughout the cycle of Reliefs. In the case of Relief IV, that experimentation concerned primarily the choice of forces: soprano, a voice with an extensive compass (b – d flat3), and bells, which appear very rarely with soprano. The two parts are linked by their similar musical material, resulting from the use of seconds and tritones, and also by their melodic-rhythmic motivic patterns. The soprano’s ad libitum vocalising and the ‘singing’ bells complement one another, creating a remarkably rich tale of reflection, yearning and desire. This work was composed to a commission from the composer’s friend Małgorzata Armanowska, an excellent singer who interpreted his vocal works many times. It was first performed by Armanowska and Wiktor Szmańda at the 26th Poznań Music Spring, in April 1986.

                                                                  – fragment of preface Grażyna Krzanowska
                                                                         translated by John Comber

  • Series: Canto
  • Language of edition: eng, pol
  • Cover: softcover
  • No. of edition: 2
  • Published: 2022
  • Type: score
  • Size: N4 vertical (235x305 mm)

15,00 EUR
Suggested retail price.

Buy in the new PWM bookstore