Ministerstwo Kultury i Dziedzictwa Narodowego
biuletyn informacji publicznej


Relief VII

for accordion and percussion

Countries of delivery:
  • Cat. no. 12899


Relief VII (1988) is a composition in which we can hear echoes of phrases contained in Programme no. 6 and Relief IV. This time they are evoked by tubular bells in secundal-tritonal motifs and, in general, by other percussion instruments. The accordion part is dominated by the narrative of unrestrained repetition, often based on broken ninth structures, ending with four silent, recurrent harmonic turns (as if cadenzas) and a final, slightly ‘truncated tonic.’ The tempo Lento appasionato e lontano may indicate a quest for a new, distant, and, at the same time, judging by the rhythmic notation, quite difficult and demanding path. It is one of Andrzej Krzanowski’s last works. Its premiere took place on 15 August 1988 in Darmstadt as part of the International Summer Courses for New Music; the composer performed the accordion part while Chris Brannick played the percussion.

                                     – fragment wstępu Grażyna Krzanowska
                                        translated by Żaneta Pniewska

  • Series: Camera
  • ISMN 979-0-2740-3534-1
  • Language of edition: pol, eng
  • Number of pages: 32
  • Cover: softcover
  • No. of edition: 1
  • Published: 2022
  • Type: score and parts
  • Size: N4 horizontal (305x235 mm)

15,00 EUR
Suggested retail price.

Buy in the new PWM bookstore