Ministerstwo Kultury i Dziedzictwa Narodowego
biuletyn informacji publicznej


String Quintet in F Major

Op. 20

Countries of delivery:
  • Cat. no. 10236


Quintet in F major Op. 20 was premiered in Warsaw, at the hall of the Merchants' Club, on 19 November 1834. Except for Józef Kaczyński, a professional, the performers were amateurs: captain Tatarinow and Mr Pfaff (violins), Mrs Kaczyńska (wife to Józef Kaczyński) and Karol Wernik (violas). As the reviewer of The Musical and Theatrical Diary remarked, the performers played ''bravely, with special strength and expression''. A year later the Quintet was published by Hofmeister in Leipzig and it is on that publication that the present edition is based, the autograph having been lost. [...] The form of the Quintet in F major is fundamentally classical. According to Józef Elsner, a teacher whose formative years had been in the previous epoch, the first movement is a typical sonata allegro; the second, albeit called ''Menuetto'', is a mazurka. The third movement - ''Andante doloroso ma non troppo lento'' - is an example of a spontaneous reaction to the results of the November Uprising. The Polish national anthem included in ''Andante doloroso'' is self-explanatory. Dobrzyński took a great risk including this then forbidden melody in a chamber composition. In the course of his overture ''Polonia'', written several decades later, Wagner also used this melody. In both cases the political sense is obvious. The fourth movement is cast in a typical rondo form. (...) [Andrzej Wróbel]

  • Series: Camera
  • ISMN 979-0-2740-0281-7
  • Language of edition: eng, pol
  • Cover: softcover
  • No. of edition: 2
  • Published: 2022
  • Type: score and parts
  • Size: N4 vertical (235x305 mm)

45,00 EUR
Suggested retail price.

Buy in the new PWM bookstore