Ministerstwo Kultury i Dziedzictwa Narodowego
biuletyn informacji publicznej



prepared for clarinet and piano

Countries of delivery:
  • Cat. no. 12820


Subito – literally meaning ‘suddenly’ – is a virtuosic scherzo filled with dazzling colours. The title itself defines the character of this work. Its expression is shaped by violent changes of tempo and dynamics, clashes between brilliant passagework and distinct articulation, on the one hand, and lyrical phrases, on the other, and a constant contrast between intense sonorities and light textures. The work’s concise form consigns it to the catalogue of so-called miniature pieces. Subito for violin and piano was composed in 1992 for the International Violin Competition of Indianapolis. This arrangement for clarinet expands the instrument’s solo repertoire with a work of the highest compositional calibre, representing a mature stage in Witold Lutosławski’s oeuvre. Among clarinettists, the composer is known principally for the Dance Preludes, which appear both on concert bills and also on the programmes of competitions and auditions. I believe that Subito can gain an equally prominent place in the clarinet literature and help to boost the popularity of Lutosławski’s music among performers.

Julian Paprocki
translated by John Comber

  • Series: Strumento
  • ISMN 979-0-2740-3432-0
  • Language of edition: eng, pol
  • Number of pages: 24 (20 + 4)
  • Cover: softcover
  • No. of edition: 1
  • Published: 2021
  • Type: solo part (instrumental) + accompaniment
  • Size: N4 vertical (235x305 mm)

8,00 EUR
Suggested retail price.

Buy in the new PWM bookstore