Ministerstwo Kultury i Dziedzictwa Narodowego
biuletyn informacji publicznej


Quartet for flute, violin, viola and cello

Op. 3, in G Major [score and parts]

Countries of delivery:
  • Cat. no. 1267

  • ISBN ISSN: 83-224-0789-0


Two quartets by Franciszek Lessel have been preserved in their entirety: the Flute Quartet in G major, Op. 3 and the Eighth String Quartet in B flat major, Op. 19. The Flute Quartet was written during Lessels first creative period in 1806 and was published for the first time the same year in Vienna. The work consists of four movements: Allegro in the form of sonata allegro (I), the poetic Adagio in E minor (II) contrasting with the gay, dance-like Minuetto Allegro (III) and the final Allegro consisting of a theme with variations (IV). The Flute Quartet is compact and transparent in form and is notable for the skilful combination of homophonic and contrapuntal textures, richness of melody and harmony and its individual tonal language. Despite the noticeable influence of Haydn, the composition counts as one of the best Polish classical works. It was dedicated to Count Fryderyk Lubomirski.

  • Series: Polish Chamber Music
  • Language of edition: eng, pol
  • Number of pages: 84
  • Cover: softcover
  • No. of edition: 2
  • Published: 2002
  • Type: score and parts
  • Size: A4 vertical (210x297 mm)

20,00 EUR
Suggested retail price.

Buy in the new PWM bookstore