Ministerstwo Kultury i Dziedzictwa Narodowego
biuletyn informacji publicznej



for solo violin and electronics

Countries of delivery:
  • Cat. no. 12405

  • ISBN ISSN: 979-0-2740-2568-7


Soleos was written to a commission of 10th International Violin Competition Leopold Mozart 2019 in Augsburg. 
               It is not by chance that the title containes the words solo and sole, since Soleos represents a musical rendering of the gradual heating up of a star, rising inexorably to maximum effervescence. This work comprises four sections of similar duration. Its inner tension grows continuously up to the middle point of the fourth section, where it is discharged ina a climax.
               The violin part employs a variety of articulations, such as sul ponticello, ricochet and saltando, as well as murmuring of noise-like effects and playing in the highest possible register. Yet the solo instrument eschews neither cantilena nor virtuosity. In several places, we find distant references to stylistic figures from the music of Leopold Mozart and his era.
                In this work, I again impart an illusory freedom to the electronic part, which affords the soloist some latitude. I wanted Soleos to be interpreted in such a way that it sounds different each time. Despite the precise notation, the performer can also find here material from which to create a personal vision of this work. [Elżbieta Sikora translated by John Comber]

The commissioned work was made possible through the generous support of Forberg-Schneider-Stiftung

Recording is available on the wbsite:


  • Series: Strumento
  • ISMN 979-0-2740-2568-7
  • Language of edition: eng, pol
  • Number of pages: 20
  • Cover: softcover
  • No. of edition: 1
  • Published: 2019
  • Type: musical instruments, instrumental solo + CD / audio access
  • Size: N4 vertical (235x305 mm)

19,00 EUR
Suggested retail price.

Buy in the new PWM bookstore