Ministerstwo Kultury i Dziedzictwa Narodowego
biuletyn informacji publicznej



Op. 4

Countries of delivery:
  • Cat. no. 8335


The work was inspired by the music of Karol Szymanowski - one of the ''Young Poland'' composers especially that of the last period of Szymanowski's output classified as ''nationalist''. The very short motive of the introduction and the theme arising directly from it, forming an impulse for the following nine short variations, are, as it were, taken out of Stabat Mater by Szymanowski, and, more strictly speaking, from the initial theme of the soprano. Besides, the way of the transformation of the folk motive, a gritty harmonic language as well as the types of textures in the successive variations reveal direct analogies between the style of Górecki and that of Szymanowski. [Based on A. Thomas, Górecki, Kraków 1998, PWM]

Out of Print