Ministerstwo Kultury i Dziedzictwa Narodowego
biuletyn informacji publicznej



for Violin (1941)

Countries of delivery:
  • Cat. no. 7985


In her four-movement Sonata Bacewicz obviously refers to the Baroque music , the virtuoso trend of the music for strings of that epoch, as proven by the kind of narrative as well as Bach-like ostinatos and figurations, textural devices such as lyrical double stops or bourdons with open strings, a based-on-fifths-plan of repetitions in the second movement and the like. (...) All this makes the Sonata an original commentary on a composition on which it feeds and to which it owes a great deal (i.e. a cycle of the Partitas and Sonatas for solo violin by J. S. Bach), depriving the music of Arcadian illusions while preserving its musicianly dash instead, an indisputable violin quality of sound and energy, which is exclusively the energy of the material, without any extramusical references. [M. Gąsiorowska, op. cit.]

  • Series: Per Strumenti
  • Number of pages: 18
  • Cover: softcover
  • Size: A4 vertical (210x297 mm)

6,00 EUR

Add to cart

print on demand