Ministerstwo Kultury i Dziedzictwa Narodowego
biuletyn informacji publicznej


In memoriam Ursula

String quartet no. 3

Countries of delivery:
  • Cat. no. 11432


When Véronique Cherrier offered me to compose five short, two-minute pieces, every one of which would constitute a musically legitimate whole, I instantly thought of a string quartet. Not only because of its characteristic sound, but also because of its formal potential. I have been working on the cyclic form for many years now. After a series of suites for an instrument solo and tape, I reached for a multi-movement form in Suite III (baroque) for orchestra, and in Lisboa, tramway 28 for saxophone and tape. Quartet III fits into this research direction. Composed of five contrasting movements, the piece refers to the musical tradition, preserving at the same time the features of my own music language. Four instruments serve as parts of a homogeneous whole that allow construction of complex sound objects with the use of both the traditional manner of play and sonorist means. Two minutes is both a little and a lot. Every movement contains five short musical tales carrying no defined meaning. Quartet III was composed to commemorate my niece Ursula who died in a car accident at the age of twenty-four. [Elżbieta Sikora]

  • ISMN 979-0-2740-0940-3
  • Language of edition: eng, fre, pol
  • Number of pages: 36+14+14+14+14
  • Cover: softcover
  • No. of edition: 1
  • Published: 2013
  • Type: score and parts

40,00 EUR
Suggested retail price.

Buy in the new PWM bookstore