Ministerstwo Kultury i Dziedzictwa Narodowego
biuletyn informacji publicznej


Souvenir de Moscou, deux airs russes Op. 6

for Violin and Piano

Countries of delivery:
  • Cat. no. 9744


Souvenir de Moscou op. 6 for violin and orchestra (piano) is one of the early works of a musician who, at the time it was produced, was already a celebrated virtuoso but less known for his compositions.

It is a fantasy on themes from two ballads by Warłamow was composed in 1852 during Wieniawski Russian tour.

Its style may be described as spectacular-virtuoso, which equally applies to the rhapsodic, extended introduction (Maestoso), the self and individual variations. The whole sets high technical requirements for the performer, both in relation to the left hand (passages, two notes, trills, and harmonics) and the right hand (staccato a ricochet, arpeggios, chords).

The present edition, which is an authentic edition and is also designed for performance use, attempts to produce a text that is an uncorrupted as possible, by means of modern notation and with regard to the present-day aesthetic criteria.

Due to its musical attractiveness and purely instrumental value, Souvenir de Moscou is a valuable item in didactic and concert violin literature. Young violinists with a virtuoso flair should be particularly eager to reach for this piece, and the skills acquired on it will be useful later in their work on more difficult concert pieces.


Antoni Cofalik

  • Series: Educational Series
  • ISMN 9790274007096
  • Language of edition: eng, pol
  • Number of pages: 16 (12+4)
  • Cover: softcover
  • No. of edition: 1
  • Published: 2018
  • Type: piano reduction
  • Size: N4 vertical (235x305 mm)

6,00 EUR
Suggested retail price.

Buy in the new PWM bookstore