Ministerstwo Kultury i Dziedzictwa Narodowego
biuletyn informacji publicznej


Musica concertante

per orchestra

Countries of delivery:
  • Cat. no. 3574


Composition for instrumental chamber ensemble: piccolo, soprano saxophone, bass clarinet trumpet, 2 harps, a strengthened string quartet (14 string intsruments) and 22 percussion instruments. Musica concertante consists of seven short movements, each of which has a different instrumentation. Tutti is only used in the fourth movement, which forms the culmination point in the development of the cycle. Formally, the piece is built on the principle of continuous permutations of inversions of serially organised sound material. Musica concertante was given a distinction at the Grzegorz Fitelberg Composition Competition in 1958. The premiere took place at the International Music Festival in Darmstadt in 1958.