Ministerstwo Kultury i Dziedzictwa Narodowego
biuletyn informacji publicznej



Op. 2 for String Orchestra

Countries of delivery:
  • Cat. no. 9694


A piece that enjoys great popularity among string orchestras, the Serenade had its premiere on 15 IV 1897 in Berlin. It was played by the Berliner Philharmonisches Orchestra under the direction of H. Urban (then young 21-year-old Mieczysław Karłowiczs professor of composition). The piece consists consists of four parts, whose numbers and titles (March, Romance, Waltz, Finale) suggest affinities between Karłowiczs work and works by Mozart, Volkmann, Tchaikovsky and Dvorák then well-known in the music world. The music of the ''Serenade'' is a completely original creation, and in large parts of it allows us to feel Karłowiczs special lyrical expression. (Henryk Paweł Anders)

  • Series: Karłowicz - Works
  • ISMN 9790274011482
  • Language of edition: eng, ger, pol
  • Number of pages: 39
  • Cover: hardcover
  • Published: 2016
  • Type: score
  • Size: N4 vertical (235x305 mm)

35,00 EUR
Suggested retail price.

Buy in the new PWM bookstore