Ministerstwo Kultury i Dziedzictwa Narodowego
biuletyn informacji publicznej


Prelude and fughetta

for violin solo

Countries of delivery:
  • Cat. no. 13191


The Fughetta, with its theme based on the notes b-a-c-h (b flat-a-c-b), and the Prelude that precedes it represent my modest tribute to the greatest of the great, and the composing of this work was linked to my new edition of Johann Sebastian Bach’s Sonatas and Partitas for solo violin.
This two-part composition combines Baroque style with elements of twentieth-century music, and it was written for ambitious and more advanced devotees of the art of violin, offering them the chance to practise polyphonic playing b e f o r e studying Bach’s demanding fugues.The fi ngering and bowing in both the lively Prelude and the four-part Fughetta are obligatory, while the interpretation (tempo, agogic flexibility, varied articulation, dynamics, with more musically important notes brought out) is left open. As with Bach, the text of the works is given in a clean form, without any additional markings, allowing the player to decide how to perform and relying on their feel for the work (helped, if necessary, by the teacher) and musical taste. I am convinced that these works will interest young violinists, and that tackling their technical challenges and exploring the musicality of these Bachian forms will give them a great deal of pleasure and benefit.

Antoni Cofalik
translated by John Comber

  • Series: Strumento
  • ISMN 979-0-2740-3914-1
  • Number of pages: 12
  • Cover: softcover
  • No. of edition: 1
  • Published: 2023
  • Size: N4 vertical (235x305 mm)

12,00 EUR
Suggested retail price.

Buy in the new PWM bookstore