Ministerstwo Kultury i Dziedzictwa Narodowego
biuletyn informacji publicznej


Eternal songs

Symphonic Poem, Op. 10 (The score and voices in the urtex edition of the Works of Mieczyslaw Karłowicz)

Countries of delivery:
  • Cat. no. 11508


The orchestral triptych Eternal Songs [Odwieczne pieśni], Op. 10 – the second symphonic poem in the Karłowicz oeuvre after Returning Waves [Powracające fale] – was written from October 1904 to February 1906. That period was longer than originally intended: from Karłowicz’s correspondence with Adolf Chybiński, we learn that he had meant to finish the poem by the summer of 1905, but was hampered by his work at the Warsaw Music Society.
Thus Eternal Songs is the fullest manifestation of the composer’s pantheistic credo, a musical expression of his philosophy, an apotheosis of Nature-Universe. The principal element defining the expression, character and form of Eternal Songs is the titular idea of song, and so lyrical utterance, with its characteristic primacy of songful melody.
The triptych Eternal Songs proved to be Karłowicz’s last work published during his lifetime. He published it himself, through the firm of Gebethner & Co. in Cracow, and it was printed by Josef Eberle of Vienna. On 14 January 1909, and so less than a month before his tragic death, Karłowicz wrote from Zakopane to Gebethner & Co. about the price of the score and the parts fixed by the firm’s central office in Warsaw and about the conditions for the work’s performance.

  • Series: Karłowicz - Works
  • ISMN 979-0-2740-1007-2
  • Cover: hardcover
  • No. of edition: 1
  • Published: 2014
  • Type: score
  • Size: N4 vertical (235x305 mm)

70,00 EUR
Suggested retail price.

Buy in the new PWM bookstore